Cartwright-Roblin Municipal Council

Cartwright – Roblin Municipality (CRM) is a rural municipality in the Canadian province of Manitoba that incorporated on January 1, 2015 via the amalgamation of the RM of Roblin and the Village of Cartwright. It was formed as a requirement of The Municipal Amalgamations Act, which required that municipalities with a population less than 1,000 amalgamate with one or more neighbouring municipalities by 2015. The Government of Manitoba initiated these amalgamations in order for municipalities to meet the 1997 minimum population requirement of 1,000 to incorporate a municipality.

Cartwright-Roblin Municipality Council meeting dates are subject
to change or cancellation as deemed necessary by Council. 

2019 Council Meetings @ 9:00 am

January 9 & 23
February 13 & 27
March 13 & 27
April 10 & 24
May 9 & 22
June 12 & 26
July 10 & 24

August 14 & 28
September 11 & 25
October 9 & 23
November 13 & 27
December 11

2019 LUD of Mather Committee Meetings @ 7:00 pm

February 6
March 6
July 3
November 6

If you wish to attend a council meeting, please contact the office to make arrangements.

Council consists of one Head of Council (HOC), 2 councilors from the urban ward (former Village of Cartwright), and three councilors from the rural ward (former Rural Municipality of Roblin). Currently, council consists of: 

  • Head of Council: Jamie Dousselaere
  • Rural: Jolene McDonald, Chris Hildebrand, and Shayne Kinley
  • Urban: Brent Pawich, Rob Sveinson

(left to right: Rob Sveinson, Brent Pawich, Jolene McDonald, Jamie Dousselaere, Chris Hildebrand, Shayne Kinley)


Annually Council appoints members to be liaisons for local and regional committees and below are the current appointments: 

Local and Regional Committees/ Boards:

23 West Planning District - awaiting assignment

Killarney-Turtle Mountain Vet - awaiting assignment

Pembina Valley Vet - awaiting assignment

Cartwright Centennial Auditorium - awaiting assignment

Cartwright Curling Club Inc. - awaiting assignment

Cemeteries (Cartwright & Mather) - awaiting assignment

Cartwright Roblin Recreation Commission - awaiting assignment

Cartwright Roblin Volunteer Fire Dept - awaiting assignment
Lakeland Regional Library - awaiting assignment

Mac Robinson Community Centre (Skating) - awaiting assignment

Mather Hall & Mather Rink - awaiting assignment

Pembina Valley Conservation (Crystal Cypress) - awaiting assignment

Pembina Valley Conservation (Badger Creek) - awaiting assignment

Roblin Cartwright Community Development Corp - awaiting assignment

Senior Services of CMR-Handi-van (CRM is parent) - awaiting assignment

South West Rock Lake Resort Association (Rock Lake Cottagers Assoc)- awaiting assignment

Tri-Lakes Develop Group (Pelican/Rock/ Swan) - awaiting assignment

Pelican Lake Advisory – awaiting assignment

Rock Lake Advisory – awaiting assignment


Other Appointments of Council

·         Poundkeepers (large animals) -    Mark Taylor/ Randy Pawich/ Robert Drewry/ Blake Marchant

·         Poundkeepers (small animals) -   Vacant (defaults to vet clinic)

·         Rural Area Reps -                            Range 13 - awaiting assignment

§  Range 14 - awaiting assignment

§  Range 15 - awaiting assignment

§  LUD of Mather - awaiting assignment

·         Building Inspector/ Development Officer - Per 23 West Planning appointment (Kevin Cameron)

·         Cartwright Roblin Municipal Emergency Coordinator - Vacant (defaults to municipal staff)

·         Cartwright Roblin Volunteer Fire – Chief - Laurence Klassen

·         Cartwright Roblin Volunteer Fire - Deputy Chief -  Gerry Dousselaere