Village of Cartwright

Cartwright was named after politician and businessman Sir Richard Cartwright, by first sttlers P.C. McKibbon and J.C. Waugh.   Cartwright's original location was along the Badger Creek and the Boundary Commission Trail and was known as the Badger, about two miles north of where it is today.  Cartwright moved to its current location in 1885 with the building of the railway through this area. 

The Village of Cartwright is located at the corner of Highway #5 and Highway #3 in the RM of Roblin, within the Province of Manitoba, in Canada.

The Village of Cartwright is responsible for the village waste and water systems, streets within the Village.

The Village of Cartwright is run by an elected council of a Mayor and 4 councillors.  As well as regular Village meetings and duties, the Mayor and councillors also serve on a number of community boards.


Village of Cartwright meetings are usually held every 3rd Monday of the month at the RM/ Village office.

For more information contact the office at 529-2363.